Japanese Cheesecake

15 Nov

feelin’ Japanese

Konichiwa fellow bakers c:

Yesterday,I made some Japanese Cheesecake!If you’ve never had Japanese Cheesecake before,you are definitely in for a treat.

Unlike a typical American cheesecake,this cake is

light,fluffy and has a velvety soft texture.

Don’t get me wrong,I am in love with the oh-so-dense-rich-&-creamy kind as well,

but today,

lets do it like the Japanese shall we.

 I’d like to call this the ‘diet coke‘ in the cheesecake world.

😉

I have adapted this recipe from LittleTeochew. She has also provided some very useful tips & tricks to ensure a successful attempt at the Japanese Cheesecake.

All you need are,

– 140g fine granulated sugar
– 6 egg whites
– 6 egg yolks
– 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
– 50g butter
– 250g cream cheese
– 100ml fresh milk
– 60g cake flour (can also use plain flour)
– 20g corn flour
– 1/4 tsp salt

1. Preheat the oven at 160°C.Instead of baking the cake in a water bath,I have decided to place four small bowls of room temperature water at all corners of the oven.This is to create a sauna effect and to avoid dampness of your cheesecake.

water bath

2.Line an 8 inch cake tin.Preferably a springform or a removable base tin.Make sure the baking paper extends higher than the cake tin as the cake rises really well.

Line your cake tin

3.Melt cream cheese, butter and milk over a double boiler until smooth. Cool the mixture(I put mine in the freezer for <5 minutes to speed up the process)

4.Whisk in all the yolks and fold in the flour gently.

5.At this point,you may find your batter to be clumpy.So if you want a perfectly smooth cake, sieve the batter using a wire mesh sieve.

Do this to ensure there are no lumps or clumps

6.In a clean bowl,whisk egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy. Add in the sugar and whisk until soft peaks form.

Soft peak egg whites

7.Add the egg whites to the cheese mixture to and fold well.

the finished batter should look something like this

8.Pour batter into the prepared cake tin.I highly recommend loosely placing an aluminium foil on top of the cake tin when baking as this cake browns really easily.Only remove the aluminium foil during the last two minutes of baking.

Tenting with a foil

9.When your cake is ready,leave it in the oven to cool for 30 minutes to an hour with oven door ajar as sudden change in temperature may cause the cake to cool too quickly and collapse.

10.Remove cake from the cake tin and refrigerate it upon eating.

Till we meet again my loves

Sayonara

3 Responses to “Japanese Cheesecake”

  1. Mei November 15, 2012 at 4:26 am #

    Your japanese cheesecake looks soo wonderful! This is one of the few things that I’ve never been able to get right! Just two weeks ago I had my first and second attempt and while they were both yummy they shrank waaaaayy too much. I ended up cutting them up and telling people they were a special “asian egg cake” and everybody loved them and said they never had anything like them before…. they didn’t have a clue that they were actually slices of failed cheesecake. Oh the things I get away with …..lol. 😛 Have you ever had the problem of it sinking? If so any suggestions?? I left it in the oven for like an hour…maybe it’s my mixing….Or maybe I should just try your recipe and see how it goes….

    • atthreefifty December 17, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Hi Mei,sorry for the uberly late reply!

      Upon attempting the japanese cheesecake,I have been reading multiple blogs on the tips and tricks in ensuring a foolproof cake.I believe that your cake has sank and has an eggy texture because it was underbake and taken out too quickly from the oven.

      I suggest that you should bake 10-20 minutes longer than the suggested time and once done let your cake cool in the oven form 30-60 minutes with oven door slightly open.

      Hope this will work for you too and don’t forget me on your next try!! Good luck ❤

      • Mei December 19, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

        Lol don’t worry your reply is just in time since I haven’t tried baking it since! Thank you soo much for the tips and I’ll be sure to try them on my next attempt and let you know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

